Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenswithducks

need design ideas for small bathroom 6.5 X 8

gardenswithducks
16 years ago

I have a small master bath room with has about 6.5'w X 8'L of space with an additional 3'x3" entrance area where the door is. I am looking for some design ideas. I haven't seen many small narrow bath ideas around. Thank you

Comments (21)

• weedyacres
    16 years ago

Is this a new construction build or a remodel? If the latter, what's the current layout and what are you looking to/willing to change? General update or total gut?

• kimkitchy
    16 years ago

If the door currently swings into the 3x3 entrance area, is it possible to change the swing out into the hallway (or whatever)? I know someone who did that and gained space. Our bath is about the same size. It is hard to get all the things you want/need in a small space, but it can be done. Can you post a sample floorplan?

• gardenswithducks
    Original Author
    16 years ago

This is a remodel. I believe I will have to gut it because there is a shower tub stall. I will post the plan of the existing bathroom as soon as I figuare out to do that. Thanks for responding.

• straitlover
    16 years ago

One thing right off if you are remodeling is to see if you can do a pocket door. No door swing to worry about! My MBa is small, too, and if I decide to re-do it, that's first on my list. Oh, and replace the tub/sink combo w/ a walk-in shower stall!

• Stacy (Zone 7a Piedmont)
    15 years ago

Is there a less soundproofing with a pocket door? My contractor is hesitant to convert our tiny bathroom's door to a pocket door because it won't block sound very well. This is an issue because the bath is right off the living room.

• sarschlos_remodeler
    15 years ago

There are solid core pocket doors available.

• Jane_the_Renovator
    15 years ago