Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gryd

damp proofing & insulating basement

gryd
17 years ago

I live in a raised ranch with about 3.5 feet of basement below ground. The walls, for some reason, were never insulated and smell very musty. I was going to take down the paneling in this area and clean up the area (there was water in the past so I'll clean any mold/mildew I find) and use the foam panels to insulate the walls between the studs. I was wondering if I should damp proof the cement? There is damproofing on the outside but it looks weak (the house was built in 1969). Is it recommended to dampproof the interior walls (maybe with Thomsons waterproofer) before I insulate? Any advice would be helpful.

Greg

Comments (5)

• mike24
    17 years ago

Im no expert, but have done some research on a product called radonseal. I am in the first stages of finishing my basement and will be using this product. RadonSeal Penetrating Concrete Sealer. It penetrates deep inside concrete (up to 4'), chemically reacts with lime and alkalis, expands into even microscopic pores and hardens. It seals concrete internally against water, water vapor, and even radon gas, combining concrete waterproofing, damp-proofing, concrete preservation, and radon mitigation in one product. Hope this link is useful.

Here is a link that might be useful: radonseal

• nevea2be
    17 years ago

It seals up to 4 inches not 4 feet. I think I would like to see some reviews and to know how safe a product it is before applying it to a finished basement. Seems like an interesting product though.

• homebound
    17 years ago

I'd take down the paneling, let it all air out, and check for any cracks, etc.

Also look for all sources of moisture, and there can be many:

You might have:
    * moist "interior" air that condensed behind the paneling on on cold winter walls.
    * bad grade/drainage outside
    * clogged gutters that cause water to get behind your wall/ sheathing etc. and find it's way to the basement