Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeff180

Insulate partition wall in wine room

jeff180
13 years ago

First time poster here. I was looking around at the insulation topics but didn't see how to insulate an interior partition wall.

I wanted to build a wine room (no humidifier) in the corner of my basement. It's already walled off from the finished part of the basement, but the room itself is unfinished. I was planning to leave the outer concrete walls exposed, and drywall the 2 partition walls insulated with XPS. I'll probably tile the floor.

I'm not a wine collector, so I don't need perfect conditions. I just want take advantage of the cool outer wall in the summer, without freezing the rest of my basement in the winter.

Does XPS work for this application? I've never worked with the product before. Should I place it in the middle of the stud bays, so it doesn't touch the drywall on either side? Is it ok if edges of the XPS are in contact with the studs?

Comments (4)

• fnmroberts
    13 years ago

Hopefully Worthy will respond to your query. He speaks knowledgeably regarding insulation applications.

A below-grade basement won't freeze. For my 2 cents, I believe XPS should be installed (glued) all-around the interior of your space, then paneled or drwyalled for protection. Humidity probably will still need to be addressed with a dehumidifier or circulation.

For your wine, consistent temperature and humidity are important even though you're not a collector. You don't want a moldy cork or mildewed label afterall.

• sniffdog
    13 years ago

jeff

See the link below - probably the best resource available that provides details on how to build a wine cellar.

I am in the process of building one right now - similar situation as you - except that I want to do preserve some of my wines that will be at their peak at 10 to 15 years old.