Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
easelpad

Basement Wall Reinforcement - Carbon Fiber Straps

easelpad
14 years ago

We recently received a recommendation from a structural engineer that it would be helpful if we had carbon fiber reinforcement straps installed on 2 of our exterior basement walls (this is done from the inside). We have some stair-stepping however our issues are minimal and left untouched would probably lead to more significant problems 7-10 years down the road. We've done some research and from the information appears that if done carefully - and in accordance with manufacturer's instructions - is something we could do.

Does anyone have experiences - good, bad or otherwise with either having contracted this work out or having done it themselves?

Comments (3)

• Mossonarock
    10 years ago

Im guessing you have installed the straps already?
    I have no experience but am thinking of doing the same to my house since I have bowing foundation walls. It does look like something any home owner could do theirself. Of course, the trick is to properly prepare the wall's surface to adhere the straps. Otherwise, it looks a lot like laying fiberglass cloth with epoxy resin, which I have experience with doing. I'd like to know how your project turned out.

• irl5fan
    10 years ago

I'm also looking into this. Does anyone know if you can just simply order a roll of carbon fiber and high strength epoxy and just cut the strips to size and apply. Or are the kits you buy from the dealer more complicated than that? It would be much cheaper to buy them separately if it yields the same results.

• Mossonarock
    10 years ago

Ok so I made the plunge and did the carbon fiber straps. Its worth it IMO. It really is a do-it-yourselfer type job but you will need to repoint your wall's broken masonry joints first.