Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jimrac

Wont extruded rigid foam poly trap moisture?

jimrac
16 years ago

HI all,

I contacted ownes corning about insulating my below grade basement walls. No water problems whatsoever.

I mentioned, I was going to use their fanfold ext rigid polyestrene and attach it to the concrete walls, then add framing, then fill will batt insulation, then sheetrock.

Rep told me, whomeever gave you that advice is not serving you well,, and we are asking for a mold problem, since the foam board will trap the moisture.

Any thoughts?

Comments (10)

• worthy
    16 years ago

According to the Building Science Corporation, extruded polystyrene is a preferred method of basement insulation. (See here, document 1, on Building America, a project of the US Department of Energy.)

I'm a builder and I did my own home with the method you're proposing., except that at the rims I used open cell foam.

XPS (extruded polystyrene) is not impermeable. It is a semi-permeable material that permits water vapour to pass through without being affected, so it works fine in basements, being affected by water in neither liquid or vapour state. (The only vapour that would pass through, by the way, is on the portion of the wall that is abovegrade.)

They key to a good job is to affix the XPS as tightly to the wall as possible. I used Tapcons and fender washers, and sealed all joints with building tape (the red sticky tape, such as Tuck brand). You might be able to use foam adhesive to better effect if your basement is unit masonry (blocks).

If you use two-inch XPS, you don't even have to bother with the batts. And you can use thinner wood framing or even 2x2 steel. Be sure to rest the plate on strips of EXPS to provide a thermal break with the floor and to prevent water absorption should there ever be a flood.

On a later project, I've upgraded to sprayed closed-cell insulation, (BASF Walltite), at R-6 per inch; it adheres perfectly and is applied quickly.