Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shadyacres_gw

No footing under crawl space wall?

ShadyAcres
9 years ago

Good day everyone,

We just bought a house in Northwest OH (built 1990). I have been reading a lot about crawl space encapsulation on various internet sites recently. It seems like something that would be beneficial and that I could do myself. So I was looking around down in the crawl space yesterday just to get some ideas on how I would proceed, and I noticed that there doesn't seem to be a footing under my roughly 3' high crawl space walls. I can reach under it quite easily with my hand (there was some loose fiberglass insulation that had fallen down in there). Also, it looks like there is a 2x6 or 2x8 under the wall. I am new to crawl spaces, so I really don't know what to think of this. Shouldn't something be holding the crawl space wall up? Why wood anyone put a wood board under the concrete wall? Should I fill this space in with gravel? Is it actually a poured concrete wall or some cheaper alternative? Thank you for your help.

Comments (16)

• SparklingWater
    9 years ago

That looks like a lentil, with the fill dirt collapsed to me. See the horizontal piece? Can't tell if it's metal or wood.

• worthy
    9 years ago

You say

lentil.

I say lintel. :-)

But neither one has a place under a concrete wall. Hopefully, this is just an aberration at one spot, in which case filling with tamped gravel or concrete would be OK.

If your crawl is not just under a porch but the entire house, I would definitely have concerns.

First, a crawl foundation should be sufficiently deep to avoid frost heave. Secondly, the soil under the foundation should be undisturbed, not fallen away. Thirdly, wood--unless it's specially treated wood in a wooden foundation--has no place directly under the foundation.

This post was edited by worthy on Sat, Jun 21, 14 at 0:15

• SparklingWater
    9 years ago

Ha, must have been hungry.