Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_20091243

Superior Precast Wall and basement floor question

User
11 years ago

Hi everyone - I am not a construction expert, so bear with me. I will try to explain this so people smarter than me with construction issues can understand it, and then hopefully give me some advice.

I am having a new house built. It is one of the most stressful things I've ever done - but that is another topic.

The builder is using Superior Precast Walls. They installed screed boards so that they could pour the basement floor, and we noticed that the boards were not pressure treated. Asked builder about it, he agreed they should be pressure treated and he would "take care of it."

Next time we check the floor had been poured. Someone removed the screed boards before the pour and never replaced them. As a result our basement floor is not as thick as it would have been if they had used the boards - because they (had to?) stop the pour lower than the bottom of the wall system. (The top of the screed board was a few inches above the bottom of the precast wall.)

The other unhappy surprise is that the bottom of newly poured floor is now several inches below the bottom of the entry door into the basement - so the mason devised some sort of mound of concrete as the landing pad for the door. I'm having a hard time explaining what this mound looks like, but basically it is not level in any direction - it looks like a pile of snow that has melted a bit. It is basically an uneven ramp down to the level of the basement floor. As you step into it from the stairway, your foot rocks either left or right because there isn't a level point on it. (You can't tile this mound - there isn't a spot on it that isn't rounded.)

So my apologies for the non-technical explanations.