Return to the Basements Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help decide a basement finishing quote fair or not

Posted by tamujun (My Page) on
Sat, May 28, 11 at 22:12

Hi, I am a newbie so please forgive if this is a wrong question to ask. I have a unfinished basement that I want to renovate it to a large playroom (for kids) and a mud room. The rest of the basement will be a storage / mechanic room (will leave unfinished but needs to install a smoke detector). The to-be-finished playroom will be 12' X 26', and will be carpeted. Mud room will be 14'X6' including stairs (skirt boards and rug - half wall of the stairs will be capped by wood trim). The mud-room will be tiled. The playroom will have 8 recess lights and a few sockets, needs to install a few smoke detectors.

My contractor gave me the following quotes:

Work including framing, insolating, hanging of sheet rock, installation of trim, and painting.
Materials $ 2,330.
Labor $ 5,000.
Detailed labor cost: Labor to frame and insulate: $1,500
Hang sheetrock: $1,000
Install finish work (see below) $1,500
(doors, baseboard, skirting for stairs, window trim)
Painting: $1,000

Tape and coat sheetrock $ 1,700.
Flooring $ 2,214.
Electrical $ 1,000.

Total $ 1,2244.

I live in New Hampshire. The house is 5 years old.

Would you let me know if this quote is fair or not? My budget is really tight, and I want spend money wisely.

Thanks, I appreciate!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help decide a basement finishing quote fair or not

A few years ago when I was in the remodeling business, we were in the range of $29 to $33 per square foot for basements exclusive of flooring. So $30.61 sounds in the ballpark to me.

Of course, it's always wise to get several estimates. Just make sure they're all bidding on the same work, quality of components, etc.

o
RE: Help decide a basement finishing quote fair or not

Thanks Mike_kaiser. The info you gave is very helpful.

o
RE: price per sq ft for sheetrock and mud