Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andrelaplume2

HD or Lowes truck Rental

andrelaplume2
14 years ago

Ok, I really need about a dozen sheets of drywall, some 4 X 8 and some 4 X 10. It almost seems nuts to bother/inconveniebce a friend when HD/Lowes claim I can rent a truck for $20 for 75 minutes...and my 13 year old is free! I live 5 minutes away.

Is there a gimmic with that price? Can you fit the drywall in the truck. Is 10' too long? 12'?? Any tips for loading and unloading. I am going to try to get in through my bilko doors in my yard.

I know this sound lame but I've never done this before.

Comments (17)

• sniffdog
    14 years ago

Not a gimmic - exactly what the rental trucks are for. You do a load and go where you rent the truck, then load the material, then they time stamp when you leave. Its a really nice option to have.

make sure you bring a copy of your auto insurance card with you and obviously a valid driver's license - they will not rent to you unless you have these 2 docs.

I do not remember the exact length of the bed but I know an 8' piece of drywall will fit in with bed door shut. 10' should work but you might have to leave bed door open.

One funny story that I must share. When HD first started the truck rental program, I needed some mulch. I also needed a lot of top soil. This was for a pond project that got out of control - kept getting bigger.