Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dominogold_gw

Should I try installing 2x2 reveal drop ceiling myself?

dominogold
18 years ago

I'm finishing off about 950 square feet in my basement. The room is nowhere near a perfect square and I have two or three different ceiling heights and I want a 2x2 reveal tile (Alpine #1004 at Home Depot). I want it to look good and I have 20 recessed lights to cut out.

Should I try installing the drop ceiling myself or hire this out? I'm getting quotes from $2200-$3000 which seems like an awful lot. I can buy materials myself for $1000.

Hard to find good instructions on the net on how to do this and I've never done this before, but then again I had never framed a basement before either and that turned out ok. Help.

Comments (12)

• blue_fastback
    18 years ago

I did 1500sf myself and it turned out greak. It is time consuming for the amature like us but saved me a lot of money and most pro's would nt have done as nice of job.

• dominogold
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the encouragement?

So how did you figure out what to do?

Did you buy some tools required for the job?

Any tips for me for my basement?

• blue_fastback
    18 years ago

I used whats called Ceiling Link. I have a very low ceiling so I could not use a drop ceiling. My panels are removable and it looks like a drop ceiling. I had no special tools. You do want to do some good measuring to find out how square your rooms are and adjust accordingly. I kinda found some info on the internet and figured things out as I went along. Be patient. Let me know if you need more info.

• ravlegend
    18 years ago

I'm thinking of that as an option and hv been reviewing several DIY sites for such.

Try googling DIY drop ceiling.
    HD may also sell some DIY video - the system seem straight forward.

Here is a link that might be useful: DIY link

• bondrey102
    18 years ago