Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nessas_gw

basement bathtub installation tips?

nessas
18 years ago

We'd like to put a bathroom with a bathtub/shower combo in our basement. The concrete slab floor already has a shower drain pipe and toilet drain, which were installed when the house was built.

We had no problem installing the toilet. But when we talked to a contractor about putting in a bathtub, he said it would be too hard to install a tub to hook up to the shower floor drain. He said most tub drains go through the wall rather than down through the floor, and it would be too hard to align the heavy tub with the drain and get it to seal properly.

Any tips on how we can install a basement bathtub? We don't have a tub in the house right now, so I was hoping we'd be able to do this. Is a clawfoot tub our only option?

I'm a novice at remodeling, so I'd appreciate any advice.

Comments (4)

• formulaross
    18 years ago

RE: "most tub drains go through the wall rather than down through the floor" - I've never seen a tub connection through the wall. Tub connections begin below the tub drain, below floor level.

Are you going to keep your current shower or replace it with the tub? Replacement is the easier option, IMO.

Most DIY books at the home centers will show how to do the following: