Return to the Basements Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Concerns RE: finishing basement with corn stove heat

Posted by chalifax (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 11, 07 at 11:53

Hi all. I'm new to the basement forum, but a longtime decorating member. From what I've seen, you all are quite knowledgable and very helpful. Here's my issue:

We heat our house primarily with a corn-burning stove in our currenly unfinished basement. Auxiliary heat is from our propane furnace. The corn stove we have simply blows heat into the basement space, and the heat rises to the main level of our house up the basement stairs, up a few cold air returns in the floor, and also simply up through the floor itself.

We are in the planning stages of the finish the basement project, and I would like to know if anyone has experience with the effects of accoustical ceiling tile on the transmission of heat from basements the main level. From what I could quickly gather, the panels only have an R-value of about 2, so that might not block too much heat, but I have concerns that we will end up with a hot basement and a cold house.

Anyone have experience with this? Anyone heat their main level with a stove and just let it rise to a second story? How well does that work? Does my heat mainly travel through the air returns and up the stairs?

Thanks in advance,
Carol

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Concerns RE: finishing basement with corn stove heat

I wonder if your aux heat is blown air...or if you have central AC. In either case I would think there is a setting (fan?) that simply circulates air thru the house. Would this not move the warm air from downstairs, into the system and throught the home?

o
RE: Concerns RE: finishing basement with corn stove heat