Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
palomalou_gw

piano muter

palomalou
14 years ago

Having read so many discussions of neighbor/noise issues, I am becoming a bit concerned about our upcoming move to our NYC retirement apartment. I am a professional pianist with a 7 foot grand piano. I doubt I'll really practice all that much, but a few hours a day is likely. When we lived in NYC, we had no problem with practicing many hours on many days, between the stated hours of the building code. We also have a building code where we a re going, but there is the usual statement about affording all, "peace" in their units. Anybody ever tried this product? Does it help? None of my pianist friends have ever used it. (BTW, we don't want it TOTALLY silent: that would defeat the purpose).

Don't waste your time suggesting an electronic keyboard and headphones: that's like telling the NFL to practice with a snurf ball. ;)

Here is a link that might be useful: piano muter

Comments (4)

• camlan
    14 years ago

I'm not even sure that product is on the market, as you've linked to a patent and not a retail website. You might try contacting music schools or the like to see if anyone has any experience with such a device.

If you are going to be living in an older, pre-war apartment, the noise of the piano isn't going to travel as clearly as in a newer building. So I hope you checked the soundproofness of the building before you rented or bought your new place.

Just remember that any sound, however melodious, that you do not want to hear is going to be unwanted noise to the listener. You might do some pre-emptive damage control by talking to your neighbors right after you move in. Find out how much they can hear. Find out if anyone works a night shift or has a small baby who naps from 1-3 every afternoon. And obey the building's quiet hours, and you should be fine.