Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blondie384

Barking Dogs in an apartment

Blondie384
12 years ago

Hi! I'm new to this forum but I would like to vent about my situation with my neighbor. I just moved into a beautiful apartment about a week ago. I love everything about it. Except...my next door neighbors leaves his 2 dogs home alone for several (usually 7-8) hours a day and they bark intermittently for the entire time, sometimes for 15-20 minutes at a time, several times an hour. I'm a full time graduate student and I am home for a large portion of the day and my nerves are shattered.

I didn't want to complain since I was the new neighbor and thought maybe it would quiet down. But it got worse and worse and I eventually called the office to make a complaint. I have lived in several apartment complexes and have tried writing notes to neighbors and it is almost never effective. They gave him a warning, it was quiet for about a day and then for the last few days I heard them barking again. And then today, they barked for the better part of 2 hours. Today, I called the management to complain again and told them I didn't necessarily want to get him in trouble but the barking just needed to stop.

They apparently are going to give him a 2nd more aggressive warning, and she told me if it doesn't stop by next week they will give him a 7 day notice to cure it or move.

I know that barking for hours on end is not reasonable and my complaint is legitimate, but I feel horrible that I may cause someone to have to move. Should I feel bad about this?

Comments (6)

• camlan
    12 years ago

Should you feel bad about this?

No.

It really doesn't matter that you are living in an apartment. You could be having this same problem if you owned your own house. Only in that case, the owner of the dogs would probably own his house, too, and your resources for dealing with the problem would be much more limited.