Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bummshel

New York Apartments

bummshel
20 years ago

Hi Everyone! I am a student in interior design and I am hoping someone here may be able to help me. My instructor gave me an assignment of coming up with a design plan for a dining room of a New york apartment. So I am trying to learn from anyone who may know a little something about city living like do all NY apartments have dining rooms, are they small, closed or open to other rooms, floor type, can you paint the walls. I would like to know anything and everything! Thank you in advance for any help you can give me! -Shelly

Comments (8)

• rayona
    20 years ago

Separate dining rooms are very uncommon in NYC apartments. You tend to find them in older places, called "pre-war". Many times they have been converted for use as second or third bedrooms. Almost all apartments in NYC have hardwood floors.

Currently I live in a pre-war apartment with a separate dining room. It is about 10x12 (I'm guessing) and has 3 windows, 2 facing the street(East) and one on the airshaft(North). There are 2 sets of French doors, one leading from the living room(West) and one leading into the study(East). The floor is light wood and the rooms has some pretty serious molding. There are picture frame panels on the walls. There is a fairly large radiator in one corner of the room. I doubt will paint the room, because it gets the best light in the apartment, and it seems so bright painted white. I could however, paint it any "light" color. Right now I am struggling with having very modern tastes in a very old building, completed circa 1910.

Previously my aparment had a combined living-dining area about 14 by 20. I could not paint the apartment, and the floors were a cherry color, high gloss. The apartment was very modern, with no trim or overhead lights. That building was completed in 1987.

Hope this helps you some! If you want more accurate measurements, I can take them for you.

• bummshel