Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meginny_gw

Apartment in NY-How to work the heat?

meginny
16 years ago

I am a new resident of NY, originally from TX, and needless to say, using a heater was never a major ordeal down South. However, in my apartment there is a huge white thing (made of metal and has a valve attached that you can turn to either open or close.) I am assuming this is the heater!?! How do I work this thing? I am freezing!!!!!!!

Brrrr!

Comments (21)

• bud_wi
    16 years ago

You may not be able to get any heat until the building maintenance people turn on the boiler. Or you could have a clogged air vent preventing operation.

It sounds like you have radiators. There is steam heat and there is water heat. Gravity systems and pump systems. One pipe systems and two pipe. You can Google for specific info about you heating system.

Can't you have your building owner or maintenance people explain the operation to you? Generally you just have to turn the knob all the way open and you will hear it hiss and clink. Heat should follow. If it gets too warm in your apartment turn off the unit. Don't regulate the heat in your apartment by opening and closing the windows while the heat is on - some people do this.

Tip: Don't ever keep plants on the radiators or one day when you are at work they will turn the on the heat for the building and you will come home to dead, baked plants. Don't ask me how I know this.

• talley_sue_nyc
    16 years ago

You have steam heat. That's a steam radiator.

it probably has two speeds: on, and off.

And the law tells apt. bldg owners when they should turn the heat on (when the temp is below X degrees for X number of hours, or after X date).

There is a time period every spring and every fall when that temperature requirement hasn't kicked in yet, nor has the date, and the heat isn't on, even when most of us would feel better if the heat WERE on.

You'll need a sweater or sweatshirt, and an extra blanket, for those times.