Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
moonshine22_gw

best way to complain

moonshine22
19 years ago

I am being annoyed by new neighbors but I'm hesitant about the best way to let them know. I am a senior-ish grad student living next door to some newly matriculated students...(but please note, we are not living in a dorm -- it is an apartment building with other non-students)...I will be a teaching assistant to these students later in the year, hence my concern to remain on the best terms possible.. on the other side of these students happens to be another apartment of new students and the bunch of them are constantly bumping back and forth between the two apartments and chatting in the hallway, and leaving their doors open so conversations and cooking smells waft out etc. etc....I find this a little ridiculous but I don't really care, except! everytime they bounce between apartments the door is slammed. it's not angry slamming, just careless, too-rushed-to-turn-the-doorknob-while-closing slamming. it starts after 6pm and continues till 2 am, probably twenty times an evening (although I am not quite obsessively annoyed enough yet to count -- I'd like to take care of this before it progresses to that). it is sporadic and unexpected and keeps me awake. of course, doors shutting is normal noise to hear so i feel a little ridiculous about complaining. but i was never bothered by (or even noticed) the comings-and-goings of my previous neighbor. i have the same kind of door and i know it is possible to shut the door much more quietly. also, one or two slams a night wouldn't bother me, but over and over drives me nuts. the way our doors are situated, i am likely the only neighbor on the floor bothered by their habit, so i can't just quietly wait until someone else complains (this has been going on since mid-august). So I was thinking I should leave them a note, because it would bother *me* to be gotten up from TV or homework or socializing to be reprimanded for my door habits. T