Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
improvent363

Some rental application questons

improvent363
12 years ago

I hope someone answer them all as our family urgently need to move asap!

1. Do you have to fill out the employer section if you are self-employed and work at home?

2. Can I put my mobile phone # on applicant infomation section instead of home phone #? Will that look suspicious?

3. On personal references, can you put your brothers/parents name who lives in the same house as you address or it has to be someone else?

Please anwer all to the best of your knowledge!

Comments (6)

• camlan
    12 years ago

1. I'd ask the leasing office or the landlord. What they're looking for is proof that you have an income. What I've done in the past is just tell them the truth, "Look, I'm a freelancer who works from home. What do you need to see from me for the employment section of the application?" Better to be up front about it and ask them what they want, rather than leave it blank and have them come to you looking for an explanation, or just rejecting the application.

2. If that's your main number and the easiest way to reach you, go ahead and put it down. Lots of people don't have landlines anymore, so it shouldn't raise eyebrows.

3. Usually, for personal reference, they specify non-family members. I'd try to find a trusted friend or a co-worker or employer to be your personal reference. I may be reading too much into your post, and forgive me if I'm wrong, but you sound as if you are on the young side and looking for your first apartment. If you go with a friend, make sure the friend will take this seriously and not make a big joke about how you do drugs every weekend and quit every job after two weeks. If you can find an adult, like a neighbor you used to mow the lawn for, or a former teacher or employer or older co-worker, whom you know will take a reference check seriously, I'd go with them.

• improvent363
    Original Author
    12 years ago