Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
turkishdlight

Noise Problem from Neighbors

turkishdlight
14 years ago

I live on the third floor of an apartment building in VA. I've only been living there since May 10, 2009. Since the day I moved in, there is a very loud family above me. The mother and her son never leave the house. The child is always running around and stomping up and down. I'm a student and I need to study. I take online classes as well and I need to be able to hear my professors. I'm only able to study when the child goes to sleep which is usually around 10 then I study until 3 AM or so and wake up at 6 AM when they usually wake up. I sleep with earplugs in my ear and I can even hear them through my earplugs!

They are heavy set people as well but it's like they don't care that they are stomping up and down and they don't mind their kid disturbing other people. It's ridiculous. I've spoken with management at least every week since I've been a resident. They said that the floors were squeaking on their end and if they fix it that should reduce the sound. Well, it didn't. The squeaking went away for a little bit but now... it's back. Management isn't doing anything. They keep telling me that they are long time residents and they wouldn't be willing to move. I'm not asking them to move. All I want is peace! The kid is constantly running, his mother never takes him outside! What do I do?!

Comments (3)

• camlan
    14 years ago

Have you tried talking to the family? Asking them to step more softly or take off their shoes in the apartment? (It's not their weight that makes the noise, it's the force with which they put their feet down--otherwise the child would be silent when he walks). Or asking them to keep the child from running in the room that is directly over the room where you study? Or getting a white noise machine to help block out the sounds?

Have you asked the management if you could move to another unit, preferably one on the top floor?