Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rwithers

Apartment Preferences

rwithers
20 years ago

I am a student at Washington State University and am in the process of looking for an apartment for next year. I am just wondering if there is any advice you guys may be able to give me while I consider different appartments. Some things are, 1st 2nd or 3rd floor and why? Is it better to have the open patio on the 1st floor or a private deck on the 2nd or 3rd floors? Is there anything that may be important to know before signing a lease that normally isnt thought of before hand?

Comments (8)

• susanjn
    20 years ago

Security will be a greater issue on the 1st floor.

• lazy_gardens
    20 years ago

Better to have a private deck on the 2nd or 3rd floors ... fewer opportunities for burglary.

Also consider window exposure: if cold is an issue, look for unobstructed SOUTH windows anhd a south-fsacing deck. If heat is the greater problem, you want North or East exposure.

A unit with neighbors, at least one floor below the top, is noiser but more temperature stable. (lower utility bills)

Get a copy of your state's "Residential Landlotd and Tenant" law. Make sure that you follow it, and that the landlord does too: you both have rights and responsibilities.

• dreamgarden
    20 years ago

I would choose the top floor. I've lived in many apts over the years and find its much quieter at the top. If you want peace and quiet when your studying, you won't want to hear people clomping around above you after midnight while your trying to sleep or study for a test.

Also, since you'll be renting. Its not a bad idea to get a locking file cabinet to store valuables when your away. In the past, I've had things missing due to sticky fingered room mates as well as corrupt landlords. Never hurts to have at least one secure spot that no one but you will have access to.