Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
palomalou_gw

my feelings about noise

palomalou
13 years ago

I am a pianist, professionally. Not addressing other people's feelings about that, but my own about other's noise: I LIKE to hear that there are other people living in the building. Much less lonely, much more community. And yes, I clearly heard the (clearly Non-professional) pianist below us every night at 11 pm, the neighbor's kids roller-skating in the porcelain tiled hallway. Am I the only one, or do folks who feel like me just never post here?

Comments (4)

• mhillgal
    13 years ago

I feel differently than you do. I live in an apartment building with very thin walls where you can hear your neighbors talking and watching tv, dogs barking and kids playing in the hallway. These normal living sounds don't bother me at all and I barely hear them now.

A year after I moved in, one of my neighbors next door moved out and a new neighbor moved in. The new neighbor is an amateur musician, playing piano and violin. He has begun to rehearse somewhat regulary in his apartment and because of the thin walls, I can hear him as though he were in my apartment. If I am listening to music or watching tv, his music drowns out my music/tv.

The other night, I came home from work at 9:30 pm and upon walking off the elevator, heard music from a few different instruments. I went inside my apartment and the music was too loud inside the apartment. I went next door and when he opened the door, I saw that his quartet was rehearsing in his apartment. He looked at me and they stopped rehearsing for the night.

This is not rehearsal space, especially with the thin walls and no soundproofing.

• westvillager
    13 years ago

I think it's easier for peeps to drop by an Internet forum and complain than confirm most people are reasonable.