Return to the Apartment Living Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Are there rules re painting/cleaning?

Posted by jane__ny (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 23, 10 at 0:34

Will be renting a condo soon which needs painting and cleaning. It has been standing empty for months and needs a good cleaning. Two bedrooms are painted red and green. I would like that changed to a neutral color. Water in toilets and sinks have badly stained the fixtures.

Is the landlord (owner) responsible for cleaning and painting or do I have to pay for this?

Appreciate any comments as I'm new to this.

Jane

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Are there rules re painting/cleaning?

The landlord should be responsible for cleaning. Painting is something which if it has not been done in years (more than 5-10) one might expect the LL to do, but if it's only a matter of preference (cosmetics) then everyone's different - e.g. either the LL will do it (especially if colors are flagrantly awful), or possibly make a deal with you to do it, but he would pay for paint, or may even forbid you to touch it at all. Each case (or LL) is different, so you have to talk to them. Red and green (I'll presure relatively "primary" colors) sure sound like you have a case for him to pay for the paint at the very least, and more likely re labor as well (hiring out).

o