Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Pro Style 36" Range Selection

Posted by Tom2013 (My Page) on
Wed, Dec 5, 12 at 23:29

For a couple weeks now I have been researching 36" ranges. This turns out to be one of the most difficult items I have ever researched for a home. First let me say that my background is engineering, not cooking. In fact I am a terrible cook but I am always trying to change that, and no I don't expect the range to be the single most factor to turn me into an good one. I am data driven and usually start by looking at CR Magazine although I do know that some of their testing is flawed when it comes to real world applications. On the other hand there are some parts of their testing that should be given some consideration. Here is what I have come up with in my quest to find a good range. I would like for people to reply to help me make a choice
Burner BTU- What I have read is that claimed burner BTU does not always mean that the highest claimed BTU will give you the best delta T. My only explaination for this is that it could be the open burner vs closed or the pattern of the flame.
Simmer Mode- This seems to be a huge topic and CR does some pretty good testing on this. Although they don't test very many 36" models I think there probalby isn't any difference between a brands 30 and 36" model. This could be investigated further once models are selected by looking at the parts breakdown for the range.
Baking and Broiling-Again I think this should be comparable to a models 30" ratings.