Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Kitchen Aid 30" freestanding convential oven won't go over 350*

Posted by Turbogus (My Page) on
Sun, Dec 16, 12 at 18:28

Model Number: KERI201PWH
Brand: KitchenAid

Greetings from Oregon~the shower me state,

Got this Kitchen Aid KERI201PWH (Serial no. RR1710293) at Hab for Hum to replace an old Tappan oven with a similar issue. The oven will only reach 350* which is maddening to my wife as half of the meals she want to cook are needing 400*-450*
Where should I start with this Oven? I'm no expert on oven repair but have two rollaways full of tools including electrical.

Thanks and a lift of the lynch lid for your response.

Gus

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Kitchen Aid 30" freestanding convential oven won't go over 35

There should be an engineering revision number 1, 2, 3, or 4 after the H, which can be significant for some correct replacement parts.

Possibly a bad oven temp sensor (thermistor).

Possibly a bad control board.

Possibly (but less likely) a bad bake or broil element. The bake element should provide majority of the heat during bake operations, but the broil element may cycle on/off a little to help maintain an even temperature.

o

When you turn it on, check to see that the bottom element glows cherry red.

o

If you have used the self cleaning system recently, most likely that burned out the control panel.

If that is the case, cost to replace the control panel will be approximately $300-$500 for the part plus installation cost.

This happened to my wall oven recently.

Whether to repair or buy a new stove will depend on how old the stove is and cost of a new stove versus expense to repair.

o

Sorry it'd been so long for a response from me. Got busy with work and my Jeep project.