Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
u084708

New Range needed_Am I crazy to stick with Electric Coils?

u084708
12 years ago

My wife and I are remodeling our 25 year-old kitchen with new countertops and a new range and refrigerator. I've been cooking for 25 years quite happily on a GE electric coil range/oven (30 in). I have a vented GE microwave/convection oven above the range, but I don't notice a lot of difference between the convection oven and the oven on the old range - both do a great job with the baking I do. I most often cook with cast iron cookware (personal preference), so a smoothtop electric range is out. I was considering a dual fuel range (i.e., Wolf), but at the cost, I'm seriously considering sticking with another $500 GE Electric coil range. It will handle the heavy cast iron cookware, the oven is still a great size (5.3 cu ft), reviews are almost totally positive, and it does it at a reasonable cost. Yes, more careful control is available on the gas range, but I don't do a lot of simmering, and for most cooking, the electric coils can generate a lot of Watts/BTUs fairly efficiently. I have only moderate outside venting through the over-range microwave (200 CFM), so that's a small concern too with the Wolf range. Am I completely nuts to stick with the GE electric coil range/oven? Thanks for any input.

Kent in Michigan

Comments (50)

• GreenDesigns
    12 years ago

Cast iron cookware does not rule out an electric smooth top. The only cast iron that cannot be used on a smooth top is that with burrs on the bottom. Pots and pans used on any cooking surface need to be flat and smooth in order to efficiently transfer heat into the pan. If your cast iron has snags and burrs on it that catch on your coils, then you should retire it regardless. If it's smooth and slides over the coils fine, then it will be fine for a smooth top range.

And, there's always induction if you'd like the control of gas but with an electric powered range.