Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
wolf rangetop griddle

Posted by nancyla (My Page) on
Sat, Dec 29, 07 at 12:51

Love this Wolf rangetop so far but need advice on the griddle. I seasoned it according to the directions. Today I cooked bacon (amazing) and eggs (they stuck). What do you cook? How do you clean it? Do you pam/oil/butter/grease the surface before use? I'm a novice, so any help is appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: wolf rangetop griddle

This is my first time to post, but having worked with many Wolf griddles, I'm sure I can help.

First, the more seasoned the griddle is, the more non-stick it becomes. Seasoning starts from what you've done according to the directions, but continues every time you cook on it.

Next, the best way to clean and maintain the seasoning is to scrape any remaining food off the griddle. A pastry or dough cutter works best (they're a few dollars at restaurant supply or Linens n Things) but a spatula will suffice. Then while the griddle is hot, wipe with wet paper towels (holding with tongs to avoid burns). This will steam off any food and flavors but not strip the seasoning. If you have anything stubborn, you can use club soda.

As for what to cook on it, just about anything that's not saucey or soupy (meat, chicken, seafood, veggies, diced potatoes, etc.). As for your eggs, you might have to use more oil before you get it well seasoned.

Hope this helps and good luck with your new griddle.

o

I've had mine for 6 years and use butter or oil to start everytime or else it sticks.

While still hot, I'll put water on it to scrape off the bits, it sizzles and evaporates, scrape and repeat if needed.............

Williams and sonoma sells a super extra large spatula/flipper which I love and use on the griddle.

o

We have the Wolf 48" sealed burner rangetop with the 24" griddle. We love it!!!