Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
twobelles

Thermador Range vs Appliance Configuration

TwoBelles
10 years ago

Hello all,

I have a two-fold dilemma and am interested in your input. We are building a new home and I am considering putting an induction unit in the kitchen. I am not ready to abandon gas, as we live on the gulf coast and have been through storms where we have lost power for extended periods. Additionally, if I'm completely honest, I'll admit I just love that whoosh sound when I light a burner and I can't imagine life without my griddle.

I have been investigating different lines for close to a year as we have prepared to start this build....everything from Gagg/Miele to LaCornue/LaCanche. (DH jokes that I'm building a kitchen with some adjoining rooms.) I am a real cook, so I will be using the appliances daily. I am not a huge baker, but do so a few times a month.

I am very interested in the Thermador Pro Grand Steam range. It offers six burners, a griddle, a convection oven, steam oven, and warming drawer. I'm wondering what experience others have had with it. It seems to check all of my "boxes" except for one. (It's missing the french door style of oven which I would enjoy since I'm petite.)

I am also toying with choosing a suite of appliances instead of the range. I would choose a smaller 4x4 gas range, the Freedom (full surface) induction unit, a steam oven stacked with warming drawer, and a convection oven. I have considered placing the gas range top and induction side by side on the countertop and placing the steam oven/warming drawer/convection oven beneath them, "range" style.

For the price, the Pro Steam range is hard to beat. I have two friends who have recently built $1M+ homes and they both selected Thermador. One has had her appliances for almost a year, the other for about 5 months. Both are pleased so far, except they said the dishwasher (even upgraded) is just too small.