Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
manucha0931

Dishwasher for about $500

Manucha0931
10 years ago

I realize I may be asking the impossible, but are there any decent dishwashers around $500? To be honest, I'm a dishwasher newbie and am just thrilled to have one - so am unsure of all the bells and whistles. Since we're going through a reno, I'm on a budget. Would appreciate any advice on what dishwashers may fit my price point and if you have any pointers on what I must have in a dishwasher. Thanks!

Comments (7)

• Manucha0931
    Original Author
    10 years ago

An addendum, we will probably use the dishwasher once a day at most.

• gamepro86x
    10 years ago

I'm in the same boat, I've settled on the Bosch SHE3AR76UC ($539 right now at Best Buy free delivery - competitors usually price match...)

SHE3AR56UC is an alternate at $494 - but you loose 2 place settings of space, and a good bit of wash options... for a $45 price gap I decided on the upgrade.

Top control versions of both exist to, but it comes at a price premium (~$100-200 more)

I was originally looking at "special buy" dishwashers from home depot namely a GE and whirlpool model, but after seeing consumer reports rankings and being told the GE is last years problem prone model I changed my mind. I also had my eye on a Kitchenaid at Lowes around the $600 range - online reviews scared me away fast though (another problem prone model).

As far a must haves I really want stainless steel interior - helps with drying, energy efficiency, and noise. Another must have for me (most dishwashers have this now) is a soil sensor. Pluses are adjustable height racks, more spray nozzles, variable pressure nozzles, self cleaning filter... Bottom line is dishes should come out CLEAN, the Bosch models seem to get high marks for that at a reasonable price point.

Hope this helps

• xand83
    10 years ago