Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meek95

Do you really use 6 burners?

meek95
11 years ago

We were trying to decide between a 30" range and a 36" range with a griddle and 4 burners. Now my DH wants to get a 36" range with 6 burners since the griddle adds about $700 to the cost. We would then use a stovetop griddle.

I have been cooking for the past ten years or so with only 3 burners (1 is broken). I can't imagine ever needing or using all 6 burners.

Is it worth the extra money to get the 36" with 6 burners? Am I better off keeping the extra 6" for countertop/cabinets? It is a small kitchen.

Comments (16)

• PRO
    Tom Carter
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I've been using my 36 inch, 6 burner for a couple months now and its great for that extra room. The pot of pasta does not interfere with the sauce or the sauteing veggies or the browning meet...
    plus there is almost always some room to move a pan off the heat, or to lay down a hot dish out of the oven even with lots going on the burners.
    another benefit is that my wife and i like to cook together and with the extra width, we can both be at the range without being in each other's way.
    caspian

• nycbluedevil
    11 years ago

space, space, space

one of the best things I did in my new kitchen was going to a 36" range. We got a grill but even if we hadn't, we would have done the 36" anyway. I have hardly ever used more than three burners, but as you have figured out by now, the number of burners you actually use is only part of the story.

The real estate is really important.

• jakvis
    11 years ago

Saving 6 inches of countertop or cabinet will not give you the same joy of having an extra large oven or the ability to use 3 back burners without using the front burners.

A place to pull things out of the oven and set them while your using a couple burners on the cooktop. etc. etc..

• sophie123
    11 years ago