Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lauren_ia

Electrolux wall oven holding turkey hostage!

Lauren_IA
15 years ago

I'm fairly new to my Electrolux wall oven but I don't know what I did to anger it to the point that it has taken a turkey breast hostage. I had it set on convection bake at 425 but was ready to change it to convection roast after 20 minutes when it was time to reduce the temp to 350. However, once the original setting was cancelled, the oven just would not accept my efforts to change settings. Though it seemed willing, for awhile, to accept a new convection roast or convection bake setting and temperature setting it wouldn't start the cycle. Eventually, I lost track of the order I was pushing buttons in an effort to get it reset and going.

What I do know--beyond a reasonable doubt--is that I did not push the lock button on the control panel. HOWEVER, the oven--apparently tired of being poked and prodded--decided to set itself to "Lock Door" and "Lock Controls". That was about two and a half hours ago. (On the bright side, it has not been cooking during this time.) I understand from the manual that the locked settings should be able to be cancelled or, at a minimum, shut itself off after it has cooled for an hour. No such luck. The cancel button will not "push" for me nor can I "push" the lock button. I can reset the time and turn on and off the light but that's all.

I've reset the breaker; given the oven a 30 minute cool off with the breaker off; and sat patiently with the panel lit up with the lock button and door locked and control locked lit up. The control panel is warm to the touch. The turkey breast is not blocked up against the convection fan. The door did not get as hot as an oven door does during the cleaning cycle. I am going to go shut the breaker off for the night and hope one of you has the magic answer when I check back tomorrow!

Comments (10)

• whidbey
    15 years ago

Hi Lauren,