Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cindylood

Best WT321 hood with automatic make-up air

cindylood
13 years ago

We were all set to order our BlueStar range until we hit up against the township's "make up air" code. We are hoping that The Best WT321 range hoods which are compatible with Broan's automatic make up air components proves to be an affordable solution. Not too crazy about the mesh filter but think that is acceptable. We are committed to installing a chimney hood as opposed to a professional hood so if this approach doesn't meet code and budget requirements, we may switch to an induction range. We will have a 30 inch range and and 36 inch hood. Anyone with experience with the WT321 chimney hoods? Any other solutions that won't break the bank? Clock is ticking and we need to order the stove this week...tks!

Comments (10)

• kaseki
    13 years ago

I have no knowledge of this Best system, but can provide some insights into make up air (MUA).

To keep from disturbing the upwelling effluent that you want to capture with a typical hood with modest overhang, it is important to minimize cross drafts. MUA should either be introduced well away from the cooking area, under the stove, or from an array of diffusing panels in the kitchen wall (not likely except in test kitchens).

The biggest difference besides total flow between commercial cooking and home cooking is that commercial outfits can size the MUA for a specific exhaust flow because the hoods run at one speed. In a residential application, there may be more than a single exhaust fan, and one or more may be variable speed. Also furnaces and fireplaces send exhaust outside. Windows may be open or closed, house leakage varies with pressure. All of these factors affect the house pressure when using the hood.