Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nerdyshopper

Consumer Reports Tests Dishwasher Soaps

nerdyshopper
12 years ago

Yesterday on my local news channel they had a special story from Consumer Reports. They finally came to grips with the fact that all washing products have to meet new government standards regarding phosphate content. So they tested a bunch of the newly formulated products. Most were horrer stories. Glass dishes that had been clear and clean were partly or totally obscurred by a heavy coating and looked horrible. The two exceptions that I recall were Cascade tabs and Finish but I'm not really sure of the latter. One of the worst was a product made by Method. I don't recall the other but it was a small market brand. Anyone else catch this announcement too? Please post what you recall for us if you did.

Comments (33)

• fauguy
    12 years ago

That's interesting. I've been using the Method "Smarty" tabs for about 2 months in a Miele, and haven't had any issues with them. No film or residue on anything - clear glass wine glasses look just fine, nothing left on silverware.

I've always questioned C.R. as I used to subscribe and got a GE dishwasher on their "high recommendation" about 5 years ago. After being serviced about 8 times in a year, it went back.