Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Temperature difference for baking with convection?

Posted by mboston (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 21, 12 at 14:01

We recently bought a new range - induction with conventional or convection oven. I have really enjoyed using the convection for bake goods - muffins, cookies, biscuits,etc but I am having a little trouble adjusting cooking time or temp for things like casseroles, baked beans, macroni and cheese,etc. Seems like things aren't done when they should be. Does it take longer, should I adjuct it time wise or temperature wise? My baked beans would normally be in the oven for about an hour at 350 - on convection, they were still soupy at an hour and the bacon strips on top (I know bad me) were nto browned at all.

Are there any guidelines for making the switch?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Temperature difference for baking with convection?

I'm far from an expert but ...

1) Oven controls generally automatically reduce the entered temperature by 25F when convection mode is used. My GE Profile range, when I select Convection mode and enter 400F for example, it automatically reduces to 375F. It'll take 400F if I re-enter the temp (without turning the oven off first).

2) In my experience convection does take more time (at the 25F reduced temp). Cookies, pizza, biscuits need at least the maximum time stated on the package ... usually 3 to 5 mins more. I like pizza browned and a little crispy on top so that may take 10 mins longer. Chicken breast (Shake-n-Bake or however) also takes a good 10 mins longer.

o

I've seen to use 25 degrees *less* for the same cooking time, when baking stuff with convection vs. not. But it doesn't sound like that would help your baked beans...