Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msgrace_gw

Remodeling kitchen w/o a clue about appliances

MsGrace
10 years ago

I'm new to GW and after reading about appliances on other sites and on this forum, I'm thoroughly confused! Too many choices! We are remodeling a kitchen and need appliances. I'm not the greatest cook but for future resale in about 5 years, we are going to go with mid to higher end appliances about $12,000 for all (sort of mandatory-everyone has a Viking and Sub Zero).
We do a lot of simple cooking, use ice frequently and sometimes don't
rinse our dishes :). I always wanted a 2 oven stove too but if wishes were horses beggars would ride...

For a dishwasher, I heard that the Bosch 800 series is reasonable and a water saver. Anyone have experience with this?

What fridge (counter depth), stove and ventilation (we have propane availabl), microwave and dw should we get and where?

Also, since I've done nothing but read appliance forums (thus my confusion) I read that the prices at appliance stores can be negotiated down quite a bit (50% in some cases). True?

A sincere thanks to all.

Comments (10)

• philwojo99
    10 years ago

I will only quickly comment and say that for a 12K budge you will not have both Viking and SZ in your new kitchen. SZ alone will almost eat up your entire 12K budge, so look elsewhere on that.

I will try and comment more tomorrow or the day after if I can find the time, and if no one else beats me to it.

Phil

• deeageaux
    10 years ago

You need to give us a little more info to make a good recommendation.

What size fridge and range? Ideally a 48" range but willing to settle for 36" ? A 36" fridge?

50% off is going to be on distressed merchandise or scratch'n dent that pretty severely damaged. You won't get 50% off on SZ no matter how good of a negotiator you are or how hard you negotiate.

• MsGrace
    Original Author
    10 years ago