Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
larsi_gw

After using the Oven...Keep door open to cool, or keep shut?

larsi_gw
12 years ago

Either on the Electrolux or Gaggenau website I was recently looking at, their manual said to keep the door SHUT after running the oven, and just allow the interal fans to cool the oven.

I have a Miele 30" MasterChef and a Miele 24" SpeedOven. The manuals do not say anything about cool down. I, to the extreme annoyance of my spouse :), leave the doors open to allow the ovens to cool down, before I shut the door(s).

If I allow the oven(s) internal fan(s) to do the cool down...the fan(s) can run for hours and hours. What's better? Door open for a fast cool down, or doors shut for a long, internal fan induced cool down?

Thanks a lot!

Comments (15)

• maire_cate
    12 years ago

Do your ovens have an electronic control panel located above the oven door? If so - keep the door shut. Those electronics can be sensitive to excess heat and they are not cheap.

• Dingster126
    12 years ago

I believe the fans are cooling the electronics. I agree with the person above, let it vent in the winter to help heat the home and closed in the summer.

• plllog
    12 years ago

So, okay, I have a Gaggenau, but even more with a drop down opening oven, I can't figure out why you'd leave it open.

If you turn off the heat and open the door to take out your food, all the hot air will escape. The rest of the cooling is of the oven itself. If your kitchen is cool it might cool a little faster from the air temperature, but if the fans really are there to protect the electronics, you're actually circumventing the utility. Is the fan loud or something? Do you never put something else in later, or put something to keep warm in the cooling oven?

I dunno. It just seems weird to me to leave appliances open.

• larsi_gw
    Original Author
    12 years ago