Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diane4570

Good stand mixer? Hate my Kitchen Aid!

diane4570
14 years ago

After 25 years of faithful service, my Sunbeam Mixmaster gave out. When I replaced it with another of the same brand, I quickly found out that they just don't make things like they used to! So I purchased a KA, like everyone else. This has been a few years ago now and I still hate, hate, hate that Kitchen Aid! I don't like that you can't add ingredients easily while mixing without putting the collar and chute on the bowl, you can't scrape the bowl while the beater is running, it's very messy (something always manages to fly out the bowl, no matter how careful I am), I can't seem to get it set right so that the ingredients in the bottom of the bowl get incorporated into the batter, and it's just too big and heavy!

Is there a better alternative? I'm not a professional, but I'd like to have z mixer that doesn't discourage me from baking!

Comments (34)

• brenda410
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I hated mine also but I read about and just purchased a Beaterblade from Amazon for $20. It makes all the difference in the world on the mixer's mixing ability. It is still hard to add things, but at least scraping the sides is not as necessary as before.

• marmoreus
    14 years ago

Other mixers to look into would be Magic Mill DLX by Electrolux and the Bosch mixer.

• User
    14 years ago

I upgraded from my 30 year old Sunbeam Mixmaster to a Kitchenaid a few years ago, and I love it, but I got the beaterblade too, and now I love it even more. I never use the collar or chute - I just stop the mixer and add the ingredients - it's not a terrible imposition, and I usually did it with my old mixer, otherwise, ingredients went everywhere.

Check the user manual for instructions on how to adjust the bowl/beater so the ingredients in the bottom get mixed.

• eleeny
    14 years ago