Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Berta, Bosch vs. Miele, IKEA! Feedback on New Appliances?

Posted by Faith_ (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 11, 12 at 19:52

Hi! My husband and I are in the middle of renovating and adding on to a fixer-upper and therefore are buying an entire kitchen's worth of appliances all at once. I have scoured the boards here for advice (thank you all!! You provide such an amazing resource and community).

This is my first round of kitchen appliance buying ever. We're moving from a rental and so having ANYTHING new sounds like pure luxury. (Oh, and I'm a food writer and recipe developer, so, again - having a new kitchen will just be dreamy.) We are trying to spend under $6000 for everything.

Could I impose on you all and ask for feedback on these appliances? Any thoughts on how they have worked for you? Any better choices that you can see?

Stove: Bertazzoni 36" 5-burner slide-in range
Hood: Zephyr Europa (on closeout)
Oven(s): FRAMTID double oven from IKEA/Whirlpool
Fridge: Fisher-Paykel bottom freezer OR Whirlpool Gold bottom freezer
Dishwasher: Miele Classic OR Bosch 800 Plus

I'm especially interested in feedback on dishwashers - I've had my heart set on a Miele for years, and I am wary of the low-end Boschs (friends have had disastrous experiences with them). But apparently this Bosch is one of the only models made in Germany and the salesman at one store has been really pushing it to us.

Thank you a million for any help or advice! I so appreciate it.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Berta, Bosch vs. Miele, IKEA! Feedback on New Appliances?

Dishwasher

The Bosch has a water softner while the Miele does not therefore I would only recommend the Miele if you have very soft water or you have a whole house softner. If you are willing to move upto the Miele Crystal then I would get that one.