Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teeoff_gw

Dishwasher, Asko. Bosch, or Miele?

teeoff
14 years ago

I am planning to replace our 15 year old KitchenAid dishwasher soon, it has never cleaned the dishes well and is noisy.

If I buy during this week's sale, I have a choice of;

Asko D5122XXLW for $820 minus the $100 rebate

Bosch SHE55M02UC for $720

Miele G2120SCWH (Last Years Model) for $875.

Which would be the best long-term purchase? I am leaning toward the Miele but I have no personal experience with any of these brands. The only dishwasher we have ever owned that cleaned the dishes without our prewashing was the cheap Whirlpool we bought for our first house (it is still working and cleaning well for my brother after 25 years). Although we spent more each time for a 'better' model with the three dishwashers we bought after that one, none has cleaned dishes as well.

So, my question is, will any of the above choices do as well at cleaning dishes as our first and cheapest dishwasher?

Comments (15)

• nesting12
    14 years ago

Yes! The key seems to be the stainless interior, so you can save a little and get something like a maytag top of the line with the stainless interior. But there is a huge difference in the top ones now and the cheaper ones, and a huge huge difference between the top ones now and the cheaper ones from years ago. At least in my experience-- I had that same 15 year kitchen aid (I'm guessing!) and hated it with a passion and replaced it with a maytag and it was wonderful. I ended up giving the Maytag away last week to my contractor because I got a built in german dishwasher with my kitchen and he is in love with it, too.