Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mltoms

Didn't like cleaning ceramic glass cooktop...induction??

mltoms
10 years ago

Hi there,

I'm a newbie, and my ancient stove just kicked the bucket. About to start an entire remodel. One of the first things I need to decide is about the stove.

So, my first (of probably very many questions): I disliked cleaning the ceramic glass electric stove top I inherited with the house. Will induction be any better?

Part of the problem was that the previous owner hadn't kept it super clean, so there was a ring around the primary eye that I could never get clean. I always felt like it made my pans sticky. While I hate the range overall (a Jenn-Air downdraft), at least I could replace the cartridges with the old electric coils.

Since induction surfaces don't get quite as hot as ceramic, will I have more time to keep it clean?

Thanks in advance.

Comments (28)

• jwvideo
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Sure.

Most of the stovetop ceramic does not get hot with induction burners . When stuff spills over onto the cooktop, you can wipe it up. If you leave it be, it does not bake on.

A couple of exceptions.

First, if a boil over gets under the pan, you want to get that pretty quick, but it is easy. Just pick up the pot or pan and set it down on a kitchen towel (you want to get the wet stuff off the bottom of the pan because the pan otherwise may be making obnoxious noises and smells, and also winds up being harder to clean off.) The burner shuts itself off (or you just hit off and save a few seconds.) Give it a moment to cool a bit, wipe it off, put the pan back, and turn the heat back to where you had it. Almost takes longer to describe than to do.