Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jrc1920

Knobs on ranges

JRC1920
9 years ago

I am new to the garden web and it seems to be a wealth of information. We are doing a remodel in CA and we were going to be purchasing a Wolf All Gas 6 burner range. I am worried about the knobs being on the front and see this as a safety issue with our triplet boys in the future. My question is does anyone know of a range with a safety feature to prevent kids from turning on the range?

Comments (16)

• attofarad
    9 years ago

You may have already researched, but most that have gone from gas to induction would never go back to gas (maybe 10% would). Induction cooktops usually have touch control instead of knobs, and have control lock features. There are a few things you can do best on gas, but we went from Viking gas to induction, and haven't missed anything about gas. Induction responds faster to heat and to turn down, doesn't dump as much wasted heat into the kitchen, is easier to clean, can be had with timers that turn off the burners (e.g. for cooking rice). You may have to give up a few favorite pans.

• Fori
    9 years ago

You can pull the knobs off of most ranges when you aren't using them for cleaning (and security), but kids outgrow the knob-grabbing pretty fast. Go ahead and get that range. There will be a period of inconvenience, but then you'll get your knobs back.

• hvtech42
    9 years ago

Some gas ranges with electronic oven controls will shut off gas to the surface burners when you lock the oven controls. I don't know what specific models or brands do this so you are going to have to do some online researching. The downside to this feature is if the power happens to go out while the cooktop is locked, the burners will not be usable until the power comes back on since the lockout is controlled electronically.

Alternatively, you could do a drop-in cooktop and wall oven. This way the controls will not be sticking out the front.