Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bonesoda

induction stain w carbon steele wok

bonesoda
11 years ago

Hiya,

I did a bit of stir fry for the first time on the wok and i am still learning so cannot comment on it.

But after cooking to my shock the wok left a hazy ring underneath it on the glass surface (induction cooktop). I usually clean the cooktop with soapy water and that's it. The stain is not getting out.

The wok is a carbon steele very thin and is induction compatible i am wondering if i shouldn't use the wok or its just the stain is created by very high heat i was using boost as well.

Any recommendations on how to get the mirror finish back without scratching the surface>??

Comments (21)

• JXBrown (Sunset 24, N San Diego County)
    11 years ago

Cooktop cleaner. I use Weiman's. You may need to apply a bit of elbow grease, but you certainly won't have to use a razor blade scraper. I've owned the same bottle of cooktop cleaner for years since I only use it every month or two. The carbon steel and high heat are fine.

• chac_mool
    11 years ago

I've used Cerama Bryte, both their cooktop cleaner and yellow cleaning pads, to get off the sort of haze you describe. I believe the E'lux manual suggested Cerama Bryte, because I'd never heard of it. Anyway, it seems to work well for the sorts of stains that don't just wipe up with a cloth.

• bonesoda
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thanks chac mool and jxbrown. I will have to invest in these then... i hate looking at the haze!!!

I wonder where i can buy these in canada one vs the other...

• jwvideo
    11 years ago

The stain is not from the high heat. Actually, it is not a stain. It comes from rubbing the pan across the ceram surface.