Return to the Appliances Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
HOTness: what makes a gas burner hot? what makes a wok hot?

Posted by KitchenMonkey (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 24, 14 at 11:08

For a person who enjoys stir-frying in a wok (but NOT looking for anything over 22,000 btu), what kind of burner would give the best performance?

In what circumstances would a 17,000 or 18,000 btu burner outperform a 20,000 or 22,000 burner? I have no scientific background or knowledge. Please help me understand!

Factors affecting temperature:
- height of grates
- tri-ring burners (not just a gimmick?)
- size of burner ring
- open vs closed burner? (what does this even mean?)
- build quality of knob mechanisms (possible that burner can't reach maximum BTU output due to build quality?)
- build quality of burner "innards"

Tri-ring burners probably distribute heat more evenly than conventional burners...But are they hotter? How do you know?

Is it possible to install lower grates on a low-BTU gas burner in order to achieve the same higher temperatures of a high-BTU burner?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: HOTness: what makes a gas burner hot? what makes a wok hot?

The hottest part of a flame is right at the tip of the darker blue zone:

What you need for optimum heat delivery to a pan is flames that have that area just below the surface of the pan. Flat pans need flat flames, woks need wok-shaped flames because the cooking happens all across the curved bottom.

You want a burner with nozzles shaped to deliver a cup-shaped flame that transfers as much heat as possible and transfers evenly to the lower third of the pan, or at least a lower ring of flame and a higher ring of flame

Two rings of flames, looks like outer ring may be set higher:

Allover flames:

o

The hottest part of a flame is right at the tip of the darker blue zone: