Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sallyparis

Newbie here, question about Blue Star and venting hoods

sallyparis
10 years ago

I just joined this forum...

we are starting our kitchen renovation, and "almost" settled on a Blue Star range (stove top and oven) - I read countless horror stories about every single brand, at some point we decided to stop reading, take a deep breath and go for it ;-0)

Blue Star also has a venting hood that goes nicely over the 36 in, 6 burner cooktop - does anybody know how noise that is? Would you recommend getting another brand of hood?

also, if anyone has a Blue Star, should we worry about the quality of the oven? There are plenty of bad reviews about the door jamming after a few months.

Comments (13)

• nycbluedevil
    10 years ago

I've had 36RNB for about nine months. No problem with the oven door.

• Mistman
    10 years ago

I've got a BS 36" range w/a 42" Prizer (Blue Star) 1200 cfm hood. It's noisy, any hi cfm hood will be 'relatively' noisy. You get used it, not too bad at low flow, when doing hi-heat cooking it's probably not going to be cranked up for too long.

• sallyparis
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you! I guess it is true, any noise with power enough to be effective will be noisy... gotta take the good with the bad

• Kristen Hallock
    10 years ago

I should be getting my 36" RNB and 42" Pyramid hood next week. I'll let you know!

• nycbluedevil
    10 years ago

I got a Modernaire 42" hood with my Blue Star. It is 1200 CFM. Like Mistman's experience with the Prizer hood, the MA is loud when on high. While the noise can be a bit annoying, agreed, it is worth it to avoid grease on the cabinets and light fixtures.

• philwojo99
    10 years ago

I have the 36" BS 6 burner range top and we went with the Zephyr Monsoon DCBL line. I didn't have the room for anything other than a 36" version so that is what I got. Here is a link to my model:

ZEPHYR LINK