Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
edlakin

Simmer Burners--What's the Big Deal?

edlakin
15 years ago

I know many people posting here place a lot of value on a rangetop being able to put out very low heat for simmering.

I'm a professional chef and i honestly don't understand what the importance of this is. There are about 10 easy work-arounds for situations in which i want more gentle heat on a pan. restaurants don't have any simmer burners, anywhere, and we manage pretty well.

I'm not looking to start an argument here (although i don't ever mind a good debate), but can those of you for whom the simmer function is so important please explain it to me?

What do you use your simmer function to do? Give me concrete examples, please. Do you simmer soups, sauces, use the burners for melting....what?

What uses of the simmer can't be replicated with simple work-arounds like sliding a pot half-off the burner, elevating a burner grid, or just using the microwave to melt your butter or chocolate?

Thanks in advance. I have a simmer burner on my range, but haven't yet had the occasion to use it. Maybe I'm missing out on something great?

Comments (46)

• llaatt22
    15 years ago

Suggest you post in the cooking forum also.

• weissman
    15 years ago

I'm sure there are workarounds but as a serious home chef, I find having a low simmer on all my burners very convenient. Melting butter is one thing I use it for - I can put the butter in a pot and forget about it until I need it. Keeping things warm after they're done is another thing - I've left things on simmer for hours - even forgetting about them - without things boiling down or burning on. Could I live without the very low simmer - yes - I did for many years - but now that I have it I'm very pleased with it.

• edlakin
    Original Author
    15 years ago

what, specifically, do you use a simmer burner to keep warm? sauces? stews? whole finished dishes? covered or uncovered?

• cpovey
    15 years ago