Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
memarcus

Truth about 'True Convection'

memarcus
15 years ago

Hello all first time posting. My wife raves about these forums and we're currently deciding on appliances for a new home build and had a discussion on the issue of "true convection."

Can anyone explain the differences between normal convection and true convection? I am a mechanical engineer by profession and fairly knowledgeable of basic heat transfer mechanisms and don't understand the differences. I am not a chef but is there any advantages of one over the other such as browning faster due to the higher power?

Comments (41)

• weissman
    15 years ago

The big difference is the source of the heat. With regular convection, the heat comes from the bottom of the oven and is circulated by a fan on the back wall. With true convection the heating element is around the fan on the back wall so all the heat comes from the side. The supposed advantage of true convection is that you can bake things like cookies on multiple racks of the oven at the same time and they will all get done evenly since the ones on the bottom don't get any direct bottom heat as they would otherwise.

• memarcus
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Weissman, I understand that part but can't understand how the heat source makes much difference. Convective heat transfer is a function of area, fluid/film temp, and heat transfer coefficient which is largely related to Reynolds number and specifically fluid velocity. No where in the heat transfer physics does the heat energy source location come into play. Assuming the fan moves a reasonable amount of air for circulation, the cooked item should not "see" any difference because the food doesn't know where the hot air came from, just that's it's hot.