Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julie1973_gw

Please recommend a 48" range for me!

julie1973
9 years ago

Hi. I am overwhelmed with all the info on ranges and need to narrow down to one or two to look at. I am putting in a new kitchen this fall. I am set on wanting the subzero pro 48 fridge with glass door. I just love it. I had assumed I'd get the wolf range because of there promo where you save by buying both, but after reading much about ranges and appliance packages here I am thinking I should look further. I would prefer to not spend more than the wolf. Here's my situation: I am a home cook for a family of 4. I cook just about every day. Mostly saut�ing, frying, roasting. Not much baking - maybe the occasional cupcakes. Would love to be able to broil steaks in the winter. We have natural gas. I definitely want 48" with 6 burners and a griddle. I don't have a preference between open versus sealed burners - prefer whichever cleans up easier. Gas versus duel fuel - not sure. As I said l like to broil steak which makes me think all gas due to infrared broiler, but open to duel fuel as well for self cleaning. So - what do you all recommend for me? Thanks so much!!

Comments (5)

• hvtech42
    9 years ago

I would recommend the Capital Culinarian, model CGSR484G2. This was my favorite when I tested out pro style gas ranges and I definitely thought it was superior to the Wolf. Your preferences may vary so you should try and test drive the ranges you're interested in if possible. This is an all-gas, self cleaning range. The model number I posted is for the 6 burner and griddle configuration. It has 23K BTU open burners. It has convection, infrared broiling, and a motorized rotisserie in the oven.

IMO, you just can't beat open burners for sheer performance. Some will try to tell you otherwise, but try out a range with them and come to your own conclusion.