Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theresa00_gw

Help choosing a range

theresa00
11 years ago

Good morning! I've been reading a lot on this site for the past 2 days and thought I'd post our specific question. We are completely renovating a kitchen in a house we're moving into. Our budget for a range is $3500 and hood $1000. We are debating 30 vs. 36 inch. We are a family of 4. I think we would use 6 burners once a year on a holiday, so in terms of use, we don't *need* a larger range. However, we do appreciate the presence a 36" has. We are leaning toward that but wondering if there is any great reason we should stick with 30"? I am an avid home cook and kitchen drooler and love the look of the pro-style ranges. We think we've also decided on that. I found out about NXR on this site and it seems to fit our needs, wants, and budget. What else should I seriously be considering? (My husband wants at least a 2nd option!) We want to make sure we don't get more range than we can handle.

Wants:

$3500 max pp

simmers for a family of 4

oven door is not hot (young kids)

pro-style (I have a mental block against digital clocks)

easy enough to clean

Thank you in advance for your help!

Comments (5)

• NowAmandasCookin
    11 years ago

You've probably already decided whether you want an electric range or gas, though you did not say in your post, so if you haven't you'll want to think about that. You'll also want to consider whether you want the oven to be convection or not.
    As far as deciding between 4 or 6 burners, it really all depends on how much extra money you are willing to pay for it. Having 2 extra burners can be nice but if you think you will not be using them very often it may not be worth it. and there will also be a small sacrifice in counter space with a 36".

• Nunyabiz1
    11 years ago

I would go with a 30" NXR, can get one for $2000 delivered to the door, fits everything you are looking for so you can spend the other $1500 of something else.