Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jirka09

Need help deciding on a 30' all gas range

jirka09
11 years ago

I am trying to choose a new range, I want to go for a more pro range, but I am on a budget ($3500)

right now it is between:

American Range ARR304

Thermador PR304GH

DCS RGU305

These are all gas, sealed burners.

I'm hoping that I will get better results with higher heat, searing broiling, etc. and that one if not all of these would do the trick. This purchase is for me, not for the resale value of my home. Although looks do come into play, I want performance.

I am an avid cook and baker, anything I buy is bound to be better than the "Sunray" that is sitting it my kitchen now (It does have open burners, though).

My wish list, not in order:

simmer,

broil like a pro (or almost)

enjoy smooth oven racks

have continuous cast iron grates (a must)

not too hot oven door

convection fan

I'm curious about open burners, will I be missing out if I get sealed ones?

Do these pro ranges need tuneups like a car?

I have never had a range break down on me, but then I have never bought one, either.

I am looking for additional shared opinions. I have combed this board, it's been helpful and confusing at the same time.

Thank you!

Jirka

Comments (10)

• acw6455
    11 years ago

Thermador. I LOVE LOVE LOVE my 48" thermador rangetop and 4 wall ovens! AMAZING!
    Simmer- checl
    Broil- checl
    Smooth oven racks- Not the best, but never a problem!
    Not too hot oven door- my oven door doesn't get hot
    Convection fan-yes!

• cooksnsews
    11 years ago

Sealed burners have taken a real beating here on GW by all the open burner fan-boys. I too, wondered if I hadn't missed out on something after I installed a DCS AG. Then those same fan-boys posted Youtube videos of how "easy" it is to clean their cooktops, which absolutely convinced me I had made the correct choice.