Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jencjudd_gw

Sharp, Wolf or Dacor Micro Drawer?

jencjudd
14 years ago

Oh my, for a relative "newbie" here, I am wearying all the GW forums with questions. I sure hope I get to a point sometime where I can offer help, rather than beg for it. :)

This one should be *relatively* easy...I realize all microwave drawers are made by Sharp; I have no experience with their customer service, etc., etc. Don't know if it would be different for the other brands.

What it basically boils down to is this:

Per my builder, I can get a Dacor for a decent price. The Sharp comes in about $100 less, the Wolf, about $350 more.

I'm going to have a Wolf range in close proximity to the micro (and, unfortunately, can't stick the micro in the island, so it will be visible to passersby in the house).

Should I just save the $100 and get the Sharp? Or get the more "premium" Dacor with cleaner styling? Or, match my oven's SS with the Wolf? Is that even worth $350?

It will be amazing if I complete this build, given the fretting I do over something as small as a microwave.

Thanks for your help!

Jen

Comments (18)

• guadalupe
    14 years ago

Sharp is the only maker of the micro draw, you would simply be paying for Dacor or Wolf cosmetics.

• erikanh
    14 years ago

I paid $739 for my Sharp drawer. I didn't consider the Dacor because I assumed it was a lot more expensive, but I love its sleek appearance. If I could have gotten the Dacor for $839, I would have gone for it.

• jencjudd
    Original Author
    14 years ago

guadalupe, you are right about paying for cosmetics; however, I was just in an appliance store again today, and the salesperson pointed out the fact that Dacor still has that button-push open and close, while Sharp has the gentle, pull-on-drawer open and close (which I definitely like better, given my kids). Although I thought Sharp had a variety of models with different open/close options?