Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snickers1388

LG vs GE French Door Refrigerator- Comments?

snickers1388
15 years ago

We're considering purchasing a 22.2cu.ft French Door that fits our width max of 34". There is a GE and an LG French Door w/external water dispenser. Both appear to have the same features. The GE model energy rates at $62 year. While the LG rates at $45 year. I've heard that we'd want a FD model that has the flap that folds out when closing the fridge door as this is said to help prevent leeks between the door seals. The GE has the flap. It appears that the LG model doesn't. Any comments on GE vs LG brand refrigerators?

Comments (30)

• john_com
    15 years ago

We have a GE fd fridge without the "flap", just a regular rubber seal. After > 1 year the seal is failing where the two doors meet.

• bluekitobsessed
    15 years ago

I've been using my LG for about 2 months. I was facing the exact same decision (CD FD choices are few & far between), and chose the LG mostly on price (about $300 less than GE), energy star rating, and because I thought the handles would match my Thermador range better. Mine does not have the water/ice dispenser. It does not have a flap between the doors but there are thick rubber gasket (?) pieces on each, and you do not feel cold air leaking out at all. You cannot close both doors at the same time.

My elec bills have dropped 20% since replacing the Reagan era POS!!!

• snickers1388
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for the feedback. This is so difficult trying to find a fridge as there are so many out there.

bluekitobsessed: How are you liking the LG's features?
    John.com: Is the seal covered under warranty?

Thanks

• bluekitobsessed
    15 years ago